I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÂHAN 2007 (FIRST) Regular Session

Executive Committee Resolution No. 42(45)

Introduced by:

J.A. Lujard E.J.B. Calvo M A.R. Unpingco

w

Relative to congratulating *Rai* Charles G. Cruz and *La Raina* Elisa T. Taimanglo on their victory and coronation at the Twenty-Sixth (26th) Anniversary of the Government of Guam Association for Retired Persons (GGARP)-Servicio Para I Manåmko (SPIMA) Senior Citizens Month activities, and to commend all of the contestants and organizations who made this fundraiser possible.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÂHAN:

WHEREAS, the Government of Guam Association for Retired Persons (GGARP) and Servicio Para I Manamko (SPIMA) provide many crucial services to our island's manamko; and

WHEREAS, each year the month of May is dedicated as Senior Citizens Month and our island community takes time out to honor our *manåmko* by hosting different events throughout the month; and

WHEREAS, one of the main highlights of the month is the *Rai Yan La Raina Contest*, with a number of contestants vying for the titles, this year being no exception as thirteen (13) candidates sought the two (2) titles; and

WHEREAS, for 2007, *Tun Charles G. Cruz of Santa Rita* was crowned *Rai* and *Tan Elisa T. Taimanglo of Inarajan* was crowned *La Raina;* and

WHEREAS, the proceeds of the fundraiser are applied towards helping fund May's events, providing equipment to the senior citizens centers around the island, and providing prizes to the contest's finalists; and

WHEREAS, our *manåmko* deserve the utmost respect and admiration for their wisdom and their many years of service to their families and our island; and

WHEREAS, the other candidates for the GGARP-SPIMA 2007 Rai yan La Raina also deserve acknowledgement and recognition; they are Tan Rosa Chargualaf of Merizo, Tan Luz Torres of Tamuning, Tan Teresita T. Tabonares of Astumbo, Tan Marissa Serrano of Dededo, Tan Lourdes Cannon of Sinajana, Tan Felomina Bautista of Yigo, Tan Martha Villagomez of Mangilao, Tun Rafael Mafnas of Santa Rita, Tun David Atoigue of Yona/Talafofo and Tun Mike Lutero of Agat; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that the Executive Committee of *I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the people of Guam, congratulate the *Rai* and *La Raina*

of the GGARP-SPIMA 2007 Senior Citizens Month activities, *Rai* Charles G. Cruz and *La Raina* Elisa T. Taimanglo; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Executive Committee of *I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan*, does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the people of Guam, commend the Government of Guam Association for Retired Persons (GGARP) and *Servicio Para I Manåmko* (SPIMA) for another successful year of service and another successful month-long celebration for our *Manåmko*; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Executive Committee of *I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na I Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the people of Guam, commend all of the candidates who participated in this year's Senior Citizens activities; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairman of the Executive Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to *Rai* Charles G. Cruz; to *La Raina* Elisa T. Taimanglo; to the Government of Guam Association for Retired Persons (GGARP) and *Servicio Para I Manamko* (SPIMA); and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, *I Maga'lahen Guåhan*.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÂHAN ON THE DAY OF APRIL 2007.

MARK FORBES Speaker

EDWARD J.B. CALVO Senator and Secretary of the Legislature

JESSE ANDERSON LUJAN Senator and Sponsor